#TBT

Next weekend is my birthday. Every year, I use it as an excuse to get my friends together at one of my favourite places – our family cottage.

It’s Thursday today, so I thought it appropriate to share a throwback photo from our cottage taken a few years ago. That’s my husband on the pier.

This photo was taken the summer before our wedding, when our lives were completely turned upside down. We were between homes, and living with my parents while renovating our new place. My father-in-law had just passed away, and we were grieving. And finally, we were looking forward and contemplating what our married life together would look like.

There was a lot on my mind as I snapped this photo. But as I look back on it, I’m also reminded of how I felt in that moment. Completely grateful. For my husband, and his love for me. For the beautiful sunset, the water and the fresh air. I was grateful for the future too, and for the promise it held.

Three years later, I’m still grateful for this moment. When I stand on the pier at the cottage next weekend, I hope to experience something similar. It won’t be the same – as life is much different now – but it will be special and perfect in its own way.

IMG_2835

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Life, Manitoba and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

