Books I must read

This is just a quick little post. In many ways, it’s a reminder that I need to take the time to relax and READ MORE. Life’s too short to always be working, or to live to work (as I often remind my husband).

If you have a book I should add to the list, leave me a comment!

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr – historical fiction set during World War II with an apparently amazing storyline. Enough said.

The Fault in our Stars by John Green – because everyone else is reading it, and I feel like I’m the last kid to the party.

Still Alice by Lisa Genova – same reason as above. A co-worker lent me a copy of this book, but I’m holding off reading it until I’m in the mood for a good cry.

Maybe I’ll read Still Alice and The Fault in our Stars the same weekend… although the purpose of this list is to remind myself to enjoy life, not be depressed that it can be unfair and painful.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusack – historical fiction again, but it also received rave reviews. Zusack has been described as someone who has a “stunning way with words.” So if you like a well-crafted sentence, this book might be for you.

Night Film by Marisha Pessl – I’ve never heard of her, but she’s known for writing creepy, psychological thrillers. I read a few reviews that advised reading this book during the daytime and not before bed (especially if you scare easy).

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Books & Literature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

