The 10k trail run

A few weekends ago, my friend Leigh and I signed up to run a free 10k hosted by a local running group.

Oddly called the Fat Ass Rockstar Trail Run, it seemed like the perfect way to ease into a new running year. Or so we thought…

The run was definitely a trail run as advertised, but what we didn’t realize was that WE were creating the trail. Through the snow. For 10 kilometres.

It turns out that trail running is a very popular activity, both in summer and during the winter. A local organization called Trail Run Manitoba coordinates and hosts numerous events every year, and there are hundreds of members.

Leigh and I before run

At the starting line, with the new Canadian Museum of Human Rights in the background

Leigh and I ran into a group of lovely ladies as we were heading to breakfast after the run, and they talked so enthusiastically about the group that I think we’re both going to join.

It was definitely not what I expected to be doing with my Sunday morning. To be honest, had I known what the trail run entailed I likely wouldn’t have signed up. It was really tough work. But, I did it! And I can’t wait until I can try it again…

food after trail run

(P.S. One great thing about a long run and good workout is that
I can eat EVERYTHING afterwards!)
About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Life, Manitoba and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The 10k trail run

  1. Fort Garry United Church says:

    Please post on FB so I can share it!

    Mom

  2. Amanda Hope says:

    Okay mom – will do!

Leave a Reply

