Defining my writing process

I’m at the point in my career where I think I can officially consider myself to be a writer.

Don’t get me wrong – I’ve been consistently putting pen to paper my entire life, from writing plays, poems and music lyrics to the more recent short stories and articles. Writing has always been a part of me, and has shaped me throughout my life.

But now, writing has become a part of my career. It’s the way I feed myself, clothe myself and pay the bills. When I was younger, I told my friends that I’d officially consider myself to be a writer when I used writing as my source of income.

So, a writer I am!

Part of being a writer is being creative, and the creative process itself is an interesting one. You can’t write a really good article, news release, web blurb, whatever unless you’re feeling creative and inspired. And sometimes inspiration is difficult to find when you’re sitting in an office cubicle surrounded by people.

Recently, I was asked by another writer about my process. She wanted to know how I manage to create interesting work in such a corporate environment. I thought about this for a bit, and realized that I actually do have a writing strategy that’s been working for me for years.

It’s quite simple, actually. Whenever I can, I turn each project into its own experience.

For example: If I have to write an article that requires a lot of brainstorming, I head downstairs to the office cafeteria, find a comfortable spot and spread papers all over the table along with a fresh coffee and appetizing snack. Suddenly, I’m transported out of the office and into a cute little cafe where I’m writing for fun on a lovely afternoon – not stressing about tight deadlines and proper CP style.

I understand this strategy might not work for everyone, but being able to turn a necessary task into a fun experience has kept my job fresh and fun for years. And, since I’ve decided that I’m going to continue writing as a career until I retire, I’m glad to have figured out something effective early.

papers everywhere

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Defining my writing process

  1. The nice thing about being a writer is that there are entire worlds inside your head. So even though it may look to the rest of the people around you that you’re in a cubicle, you could actually be in Scotland or Alpha Centauri… 😉

  2. Amanda Hope says:

    That is so true. I often comment that I’m off in my “own little world,” which is really a thing – and actually a place! I’m glad I’m not the only one. Thanks for reading my post!

Leave a Reply

