The art of the ambidextrous blow dry

I’ve recently ramped up my weight training, because winter is coming and I want to be able to shovel without pulling something. As I’ve been doing more lifting, I’ve been noticing that my left arm is significantly weaker than my right.

So, I started focussing on my left arm during each training session in the hopes that left and right would gradually balance out.

Well, they haven’t. And yesterday morning, I figured out why.

It’s easy to underestimate just how heavy a blow dryer is when you’re using one every day. I hate to admit it, but I have probably been blow drying my hair since junior high. When you really start to think about it, that’s a LOT of standing in one spot with your arm over your head…

… and in my case, with my RIGHT arm over my head.

Yep, that’s right. I have developed an intense blow dryer muscle in only one arm. I’m assuming this is likely a problem many other women face, but it’s ridiculous.

My plan to improve my teeny left arm is to blow dry my hair going forward with ONLY the left. No right-handed drying for me. At least until I start to see some results, and then I will move forward using both arms.

I attempted this for the first time this morning, and I’m embarrassed to admit it was really tough. Ambidextrous blow drying is not for the faint of heart – or the weak-armed, evidently.

I’m going to keep at this for a while, but it’s anyone’s guess whether or not it will make a difference. Maybe I should just go back to my free weights…

 

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The art of the ambidextrous blow dry

  1. Amanda's Mom says:

    I found that I developed my left (non-dominant) arm oh so many years ago, when I had a baby – lugging that child around with my left arm while doing things with my right. Thanks, Amanda, for helping me to develop my left bicep – at least for a few years!

  2. Amanda Hope says:

    No problem! That’s what babies are for, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

