The bus and me: month one

Well folks, I’ve been taking the bus to work for a month now.

I promised I’d provide an update – for those of you who are genuinely curious – and honestly, I couldn’t be happier. Here’s a quick roundup of the good, the bad and the (occasionally) ugly…

Good

By simply walking to and from the bus stop every day, I have walked an extra 40 miles this month – 10 miles per week.

My gas savings are difficult to nail down, but I’m guessing I have spent at least $250 less on gas this month. More if you consider how much it cost to drive all the way to Oak Hammock Marsh every day.

I see a lot more throughout the day, from sweet cars to new fashion trends. I’m also spending more time outside in nature, which is great for clearing the head.

My bus of choice is not Rapid Transit, so it’s never full. Also, I actually have a chance to write more. This post, for example, was written on my ride to work Wednesday morning.

It’s easy to stop in at a cool-looking restaurant for a drink. My friend Jon said it best: When you take public transit, you just have what’s on your back. You’re not tied to a car or a parking meter, so you’re free to go anywhere you want and hop on the next bus home when you’re done.

It’s definitely true.

And the last piece of good news – I can write off my bus passes!

Bad

The best bus for me to take only comes twice an hour. This means I spend about 15 minutes hanging out at the office at the end of the day.

Ugly

There is a girl on my morning ride who just loves dousing herself in an intensely strong perfume. It makes everyone on the bus sneeze, but she hasn’t figured out yet that her scent choice is the problem.

So, as you can see, I have mostly good news to share.

I know it’s going to get cold soon, and some days I will regret this choice. But for now, I’m perfectly happy parking my car and letting someone else do the driving for me…

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
This entry was posted in Life, Manitoba and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

