Re-reading ‘Little House’

I’ve always been a reader.

When I was about eight or nine years old, I discovered the Little House on the Prairie series and was instantly hooked.

Something about the raw, unapologetic way Laura Ingalls Wilder wrote about the struggles her family faced as settlers in late 19th-century America spoke to me. Her tales of living in a dugout, nearly starving to death during the Long Winter and fighting to make a living on a land claim in the wide open prairie were impossible for me not to read.

I was also drawn in by Wilder’s writing style – which began as the voice of a young girl, and matured into a young woman as the years progressed – and her factual yet colourful account of the historical events that affected her.

I didn’t realize it at the time, but the Little House books would inspire and shape my own writing style years later, as well as play a part in my decision to pursue history studies in university.

This is just another great reason why I love re-reading books. You learn new things each time, about the book and about yourself…

About Amanda Hope

Communications professional. Book lover. History nerd. Runner. Tea drinker. Musician. Proud 'Pegger.
Image | This entry was posted in Books & Literature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Re-reading ‘Little House’

  1. Pingback: My top 10 favourite books | The Hope Files

Leave a Reply

